saving files and extracting question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2004, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default saving files and extracting question

ok..whenever i download big files...or afterwards extract those files, can i make windows save directly to HD first or extract straight to destination, INSTEAD of it extracting to a temp folder..THEN RECOPYING it to destination. I remember it never doing that before but now its taking more time to do crap. Is this something i can change?
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 03:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

ok let me reword it sorry. Say i download the doom3 demo. i right click and hit save as , liek i always do. It downloads and finishes, BUT right after download window is gone another box shows up saying copying file to c:download from temp or something to that effect. Same thing happens to anything i extract with winrar or zip. It extracts file to windows/temp taking 30seconds then COPIES the file to where i had it save to in the first place.Which takes another 2mins. Its annoying. Does that make more sense.

Isnt there a way to have anything downloaded or extracted just be written straight to HD instead holding it in a temp then recopying?
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

as far as I know winrar only does this when you open a file inside a compressed filewithout extracting it to another folder first
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 05:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

WinRAR winACE WinZIP all do the same whether i run before extracting(which i dont do) or after.Same goes with anything bigger than 30mb from the internet.
badkitty is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 09:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

is this ONLY on downloads done through the broswer?
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.