SATA and XP x64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2005, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
Default SATA and XP x64

I've got a problem, I hope you guys can help me out.

I want to install x64 on my new SATA drive. I pop the x64 cd in my dvd drive, and it looks like the cd is about to boot and give me the xp setup screen, but it just stays at a black screen. The dvd rom is only a few months old.

And even when I get this fixed, I believe I need a x64 SATA drive so the drive will even be writeable, correct?

Enlighten me!!
__________________

Solar.Plexus is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

You don't need SATA to install XP x64. Mine is on a SATA WD Raptor though. I dunno why yours won't boot off the CD...
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default Re: SATA and XP x64

Quote:
Originally posted by Solar.Plexus
And even when I get this fixed, I believe I need a x64 SATA drive so the drive will even be writeable, correct?
Say WHAT? Do you mean that you will need drivers for the SATA drive? If so, the answer will be yes.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Update:

I got my x64 installation disc to run, but I had to insert the disk after powering up during the mobo logo. Who the f knows. ?

But I still need a x64 SATA driver, which isn't on my SATA driver floppy. All I can find online are utility installations, not the .sys file that goes on a floppy and can select when you f6 during windows installation. Can anyone give me a link?
Solar.Plexus is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

look for it. it is hidden somewhere on your mobo cd (one of the files will be textoem.setup or something). copy the files to your floppy disc
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.