sata drive on a reformat - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to realmike15
Default sata drive on a reformat

if i could get a quick response about this, that'd be awesome.

i want to reformat my computer tonight, it's getting a little boggled down, so this is my quick fix. my question is, i have a abit ic7-g mobo that requires drivers to run the onboard SATA controller. the only disc drive i have in my computer is an SATA DVD Burner. since windows xp disc is a cd, am i going to have an issue once the drive is reformatted, because wouldn't those drivers be lost? will i be able to access my drive?
__________________

__________________

Gigabyte GA-P31-S3G Motherboard (Intel P31 Chipset)
Intel Core Duo 2.33Ghz (1333FSB/Conroe)
eVGA 9600GT (512MB)
WD 240gig SATA150(7,200rpm 16mb cache) x2
G. Skill Dual Channel DDR2 1066 (2Gigs)
Plextor 16x/48x DVD+-RW SATA150
Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Seasonic 500W Power Supply
LIAN LI PC-G70B Full-Tower
ViewSonic 19" VP191b LCD Monitor
realmike15 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you have the drivers for the sata drive? Most of the time, Windows will find the correct drivers for the sata drives, how did you install it in the first place?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You motherboard was suppose to come with a floppy disk that contains the driver for your chipset for SATA support. If the Windows CD doesn't recognize your drive you will need to press F6 to load this driver. If you get lucky and Windows recognize the driver you can continue the deletion and formating of the HD.
Law is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I have the intel chipset SATA driver from my abit motherboard. Came off of the floppy disc, it's on my Harddrive as a winrar file for backup reason. If you need it I can share it with you.
Law is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to realmike15
Default

found the floppy, thanks for the offer. to answer the first question, i installed the SATA drivers via the CD in windows.

i'm still having an issue though.

my dvd-rw is on the second SATA controller (the silicon one), and when i hit f6 and installed the drivers in dos, it's still not showing up when i boot up. just my two HDs are listed. (note it never showed up during boot up, but always worked in windows properly so i never worried about it.) how do i get it to recognize my dvd-rw at boot up?

also the first time i tried to install windows, i accidentally had it copy the install files to the C drive, and now it wont let me delete that partition, it tells me "you cannot delete that partition it has setup files on it", also it takes me to windows install setup everytime i restart.
so my question is, how do i make it stop trying to run windows installation everytime i boot up? i'm thinking that will make it stop telling me i cannot delete the partition that has setup files on it, by copy the install files to the backup D drive instead, or if i can just make it run the installation files from the disc that would work too.

sorry if thats confusing, i know it's long. thanks in advance.
__________________

Gigabyte GA-P31-S3G Motherboard (Intel P31 Chipset)
Intel Core Duo 2.33Ghz (1333FSB/Conroe)
eVGA 9600GT (512MB)
WD 240gig SATA150(7,200rpm 16mb cache) x2
G. Skill Dual Channel DDR2 1066 (2Gigs)
Plextor 16x/48x DVD+-RW SATA150
Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Seasonic 500W Power Supply
LIAN LI PC-G70B Full-Tower
ViewSonic 19" VP191b LCD Monitor
realmike15 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 02:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to realmike15
Default

no one has the magic answer i'm looking for?
__________________

__________________

Gigabyte GA-P31-S3G Motherboard (Intel P31 Chipset)
Intel Core Duo 2.33Ghz (1333FSB/Conroe)
eVGA 9600GT (512MB)
WD 240gig SATA150(7,200rpm 16mb cache) x2
G. Skill Dual Channel DDR2 1066 (2Gigs)
Plextor 16x/48x DVD+-RW SATA150
Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Seasonic 500W Power Supply
LIAN LI PC-G70B Full-Tower
ViewSonic 19" VP191b LCD Monitor
realmike15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.