same OS, New computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2007, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default same OS, New computer?

Ok, I think remember from somewhere that you can use the same serial on new mobo/computer, by calling MS and tell them that you upgraded mobo/computer as long as you've got full retail version not oem or academic versions
True?
if so whats the number to call?

on a side note, I am thinking of just sticking another 1 gb of ram in there, because vista just uses so much memory! plus I am a "loose woman" about firefox tabs, I've got a lot of them opened at anytime, last night I nearly maxxed out my 2 gbs opening few tabs with a lot of wallpapers

thoughts on 1gb x3? versus (1gb x2) + (512mb x2)
plus
how does memory reacts to same ram speeds, but different brands?
happy? or ?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 05:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: same OS, New computer?

It is technically illegal to use the same serial on a new machine. In which case we can not give you the answer to your first question. But i bet i fyou tried real hard you would figure it out. Considering when you are prompted to activate Vista/XP they give you ALL this info.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: same OS, New computer?

ahh, ok, so it is still possible, but its the hush hush type of info ehhhhh

ok, any thoughts on ram then? I only gots 32 bit
too stupid lool, shoulda gotten 64
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: same OS, New computer?

you are a loose woman. what's up with you? can we go out?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 07:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: same OS, New computer?

EricB, what's that all about?

Anyway, my computer has basically been three or four different computers over the years with all the upgrades including motherboards and such, and MS will give you grief about it, but it's not like you're going to use that one copy of windows on more than one pc at a time right? I don't think it's logical that every time you get a new piece of hardware you have to slap an extra 100-200 bucks on top of that for a new OS. So let em know that it's the same computer just upgraded and it'll be all fine.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: same OS, New computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohGrFreak View Post
EricB, what's that all about?

Anyway, my computer has basically been three or four different computers over the years with all the upgrades including motherboards and such, and MS will give you grief about it, but it's not like you're going to use that one copy of windows on more than one pc at a time right? I don't think it's logical that every time you get a new piece of hardware you have to slap an extra 100-200 bucks on top of that for a new OS. So let em know that it's the same computer just upgraded and it'll be all fine.

I'm joking
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.