Safe Mode Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Default Safe Mode Help!

Hi, I have a problem with accessing safe mode. Whenever I start up my computer, I go to the boot menu where you can select what to do. I highlight safe mode, press enter and I'm in. But on the log on screen for safe mode, it freezes for like 5 seconds and restarts the computer automatically so I can't even do anything. Help? Thanks. (Windows Xp Pro User)
__________________

hobo_man is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

does it do it with all safe mode options like safe mode, SM with Networking, SF with CM prompt...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Default

yep.
hobo_man is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

does it do it while in windows normally?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Default

not when I'm using windows normally
hobo_man is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you can try a repair...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Default

what do you mean? With what?
hobo_man is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

repairing your OS with the repair feature when you boot from the cd
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.