Safe Mode - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2005, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to kyle_godfrey
Default Safe Mode

Is there anyway to start XP into Safe Mode or access something like "Last Known Good" even though the system will not boot up.
__________________

kyle_godfrey is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

no. Last known good is the hardware config that is saved when Windows starts up. if you get the machine up, then last known good is bad already. it's a major misnomer as it's really very useless most of the time.
can you explain what the problem is a bit and maybe we can help figure out the best solution...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 50
Default

bout safe mode, if you can boot in dos/cmd prompt just use edit, open your boot.ini and add after the line
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows "windows xp home/pro (depends on what you have installed)" /fastboot

after the fastboot trigger just add /safeboot.
not the multi(0) ........... may differ on your system.
foxhound is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.