safe mode - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default safe mode

im having a little trouble that needs a lot of help on this side anyways. i need to start up in safe mode and when i start up i wait for the beep and then press f8 repeatedly until i get the blue menu. its a boot menu but nothing says safe mode i press hard drive and it starts up regularly..im not good with computers but i phoned to get work done on my comp but it will take 7 days trying to do it faster lol.is there something im doing wrong .. any help would be greatly appreciated thx

Old 08-03-2007, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie

Default Re: safe mode

Hello,

What are your system specifications?

Make sure that you're hitting F8 just before the Windows OS splash screen (loading screen).

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Old 08-03-2007, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

im running xp media... im hitting f8 i get a screen that comes up but nothing that says start in safe mode
Old 08-03-2007, 12:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender

As soon as you hit the power button start hitting F8, you should either get the option for safe mode or a keyboard error. And it should be a black screen with white letters.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
Old 08-03-2007, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender