Runtime Error Msge No 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2008, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Smile Runtime Error Msge No 2

Hi True Techie and Others
I posted under this thread 3-5-08 at 8.36pm and got a number of replies.

The thread was removed because the log file was too big.

Have 2 questions:
1. True Techie sugeested deleting the the "Sonic" folder.
program files\common files\sonic\updatemanager\sgtray.exe

How do I do this???

2.. How do a post or attach a log file in future so that it isnt too big for here?


Thanks evryone
__________________

embee241 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Runtime Error Msge No 2

I recall that thread, and courtesy of processlibrary.com (you may eant to bookmark that) the following is shown:

Description

sgtray.exe is a utility from VERITAS Software Corporation which installs itself on the system tray bar, and serves to remind you to backup your files. This is a non-essential process. Disabling or enabling it is down to user preference.

So the question is...do you have/use Veritas Backup software?
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Runtime Error Msge No 2

YOU can remove it! its your choice! it is not needed your choice if its given you problems than why not remove it?

u running vista or xp?
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Runtime Error Msge No 2

Running XP Its not needed so how do I remove it?
embee241 is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Runtime Error Msge No 2

Try this...

Open the control panel, and click on add/remove programs.

Search for the application called "IBM RecordNow Update Manager".

Click on the remove button(s). As you remove it, you will see
that it is a Veritas product. Sgtray.exe will go away and recordnow
will stay, with no worries about getting into regedit directly.

Ta da!

EDIT: If that doesn't work then try:

Start > Run > Msconfig

Now find sgtray on the startup tab

Unclick it.
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runtime error message embee241 HijackThis Logs (finished) 5 03-06-2008 04:55 AM
How to adjust the location of the form in runtime in vb.net biz_me Programming 2 07-23-2007 10:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.