Runtime error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Runtime error

This is the error I get:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Runtime Error!

Program:

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

This happens when I opened a folder in my documents. The folder was fine and all the files were fine, I deleted a couple unneccessary files and the next time I opened the folder, this error message popped up.

I tried to restore the deleted files from the recylce bin to see if that would help, instead, now the error pops up when I try to access "my documents" at all. I can't get to any folder now.

What the heck is this Runtime program anyways and how do I bypass it or find a solution?

Also, I recently did a windows update today before this happened, but everything was fine until a few minutes ago.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Did some searching and found out the microsoft has a hotfix for this problem, but you have to contact microsoft's techs for obtaining the fix.

So, I went into safe mode and checked out some of the more suspicious files, it seems like me and my fiancee's love for limewire and bittorrent got us some files that the names were too long. I had to fist rename the files, then i could delete them. I also did some cleaning up and rearranging in the main documents folder. it seems to have worked.

Sorry for the trouble.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.