Running Windows with no Services? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2005, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Running Windows with no Services?

Quote:
Originally Posted on Slashdot dot org
"So how many of the almost 4 dozen default-enabled services does Windows XP really need in order to preserve basic functioning, like web surfing and running applications? Zero, as it turns out. Mark Russinovich at Sysinternals demonstrates that if certain steps are followed, Windows XP will still run with only two active processes: System and Csrss.exe. No Smss.exe, Winlogon.exe, Services.exe, Lsass.exe... And, contrary to the expectations of various lead engineers at Microsoft, even Internet Explorer will still work under such conditions."
http://www.sysinternals.com/blog/200...-services.html
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

wow, did you just find out about this.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 03:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, I did. But let me guess, you've known about that for ever, right? Why aer you such a jerk in all of your posts to everyone?
Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

now if i did all of that, would i still have networking, and be able to play games/video/ and music?

EDIT: NVM, i just read it in the article that is it crippled.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, it is pretty limited. I bet this is what alot of big OCers do when they do a suicide shot and run SuperPI or whatnot. Hmmm.....
Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

yup lol.
nuke is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

ok, for starters, this is getting to be a bit like Slashodot. I posted this yesterday on here cause I thought it was cool. Please do a search before posting this stuff. Saves us from having to read about it again...
You can still surf, and use some programs, but the limts include not being able to log off, which I found a problem. But it's very cool to see system Idle get 100% and stay there for a change...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.