Running Scan Disk on Win98: problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 08:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default Running Scan Disk on Win98: problems

when i run scandisk on WIN 98 OS, i get a message.

"scan disk had to restart 9 times or 10 times cause some program is continually writing to the disk"

even if i close all running apps i get this message?

whats the reason. is it the firewall, or antivir (note i havnt updated antivir on my 98 after i did it on my XP OS and all those problems.) ?

what could this program or programs be that continually write to the disk.

this happens when i try to run scandisk on C drive.

is it due to the stuff in my tray? any ideas?
__________________

vicky116 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what happens when you run chkdsk?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

chkdsk???

whats that n how do i run it?
__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

start, run, chkdsk

http://www.deltatranslator.com/chkdsk.htm
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

ok
__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

then do a defrag
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

i get this message when i try to run chkdsk.

CHKDSK has Not checked this drive for errors.
You must use SCANDISK to detect and fix errors on this drive.

then it gives volume info. total **** space, free space, bytes allocated to each unit, total allocation units on disk, available alllocation units on disk, total bytes memory, bytes free.

Instead of using CHKDSK, try using SCANDISK. SCANDISK can reliably detect and fix a much wider range of disk problems.
__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go to Start > Run and type msconfig in the Open: box
On the General tab, uncheck all items listed under Selective startup (make sure that Selective startup is selected)
Hit apply and OK and restart Windows
This starts Windows with only the basics running; Insures nothing will interfere with ScanDisk and Defrag
Run ScanDisk and Defrag, when ready go into msconfig and select Normal startup and restart Windows
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

ok
__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

my browser has just redirected me to the windows site to download and install some security updates.

i will then try what you just told me!

that will be ok right?
__________________

__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.