Running Processes - Too Many? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2006, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default Running Processes - Too Many?

Hello,

I recently got a new computer from Dell, and with a 3.2 gig processer and 2 gigs of RAM, I'm really not that worried about it slowing down too much. But I just noticed that I'm running over 46 processes even just after startup. That sounds like a lot.

I am fairly sure that this number of processes is slowing down my computer, but I may be incorrect. Does anyone know how I can get rid of these processes safely without killing the ones I need? How do I know which ones to kill, and how can I kill them and not have them come back every time I start up?

Thanks!
__________________

atmosphere is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default Running processes

Try either of these, the second one is my choice, safe and easy to use.

http://www.teamcti.com/pview/prcview.htm

http://www.processlibrary.com/quickaccess/.

I got my running processes down from 58 to 33 depending what you have open at the time.

Good luck
__________________

wallace is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Is it the Dell pre-installed version of Windows XP? They usually have all this garbage installed that just wastes resources. I'd format the hard drive and do a clean install of Windows.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

uninstall any uneeded programs...if you still have a lot go to...START...RUN...type MSCONFIG...click the start-up tab and uncheck any UNEEDED items.
ECTech is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

my system is fine with 57 processes....
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

well Windows XP comes with 19 processes when it's first loaded onto a system. 57 is too many.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default Processes running?

Correct me if I am wrong, but wouldn't the amount of processes you have running be determined by the configuration of each computer. Namely what you have installed, and what you let run? Suggest you download the following small program, it helped me enormously. I agree, 57 is far too many.

http://www.processlibrary.com/quickaccess/.
wallace is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Processes running?

Quote:
Originally posted by wallace
Correct me if I am wrong, but wouldn't the amount of processes you have running be determined by the configuration of each computer. Namely what you have installed, and what you let run? Suggest you download the following small program, it helped me enormously. I agree, 57 is far too many.

http://www.processlibrary.com/quickaccess/.
I think my 29 processes is very healthly but i still downloaded this and when i went onto the processes tab on task manager it was still the same, apparently i should have got some icons by the names to click on so that it tells me exactly what they are? but i got nothing.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 07:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

I have 46 processes...

Specs of my system are in my sig. System runs fine. But like someone has already said, it depends on what type of user you are and what your requirements are.

I suppose, it's not just the amount of processes you have running on Windows XP...but more importantly whether they are crucial and beneficial...

For example, sure a fresh installation is going to have very few processes at first...but a fresh Operating System doesn't have any security software installed, like Antivirus software, which account to the amount of processes running on Windows XP.

Avast! Antivirus alone has at least 5 processes running when all shields are activated...and these processes are vital to the protection of the system.

Then there may be spyware shields installed, adding to the number of processes.

You may also have more hardware than others which require specific proceses.

The amount of system resources each process takes up is also important. It's not just how many processes you have running which you should be worrying about...

...For example, just because you have say, only 20 processes running in Windows XP, and your friend's PC has 40 processes running...it doesn't mean that his machine is worse off. Sure he has alot of processes (twice the amount) but each may only be taking up very small amounts of the system's resources, whereas each of the 20 processes running on your machine may be hogging alot of system resources compared to your friends, meaning you are worse off.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Wow! Thanks for the load of replies!

I just dowloaded quick access, and it looks like a great program for keeping me informed on what is running. Previous to that I had to type in and google each process individually to see what it was.

My system startup time from nothing to 46 processes running is about 35 seconds, and I am highly satisifed with that, and not worried about it, the thing I saw that was strange to me was the high amount of processses.

To answer a question that came up earlier, yes I am running the version of windows that came with dell. I am a bit hesitant to format my HD though, as I already have many things on here that I want to keep.

Thanks to ECTech for giving me the MSConfig command, as that's one of the things I was looking for on this. And thanks for all the referrals for the various programs. I'll see what I can do with them.
__________________

atmosphere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.