Running office in two locations Help!!!!!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2007, 04:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default Running office in two locations Help!!!!!!!!!!

Hello members
I am in the process of amalgamate with anothe business. After the merger I still would like to take work home (as I am a very early riser) and able to take it back and forward.
I am not sure if a laptop is the right way to go as I need grunty machine (architectural work), and I use Virtual Machines quite a bit(lots of Mem needed.
Has anyone of you suggestions, experience that you would like to share?

I am looking forward to hear from you.

Thanks
NT
__________________

notechy is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default Re: Running office in two locations Help!!!!!!!!!!

So, if I understand you correctly, you need to take data to and from work? If so, a pocket hard drive or a USB Flash Drive are the way to go.
__________________

sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Running office in two locations Help!!!!!!!!!!

sir nerdalot, thanks
I guess your option is one way how to do it. Say if I work all day at the office and I would know that next day I work from home; can it be easely updated, synchronised at home? Inclusive Outlook and whatever else I did work with without having to think about each file I was working on in the office?

Thanks
NT

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir nerdalot View Post
So, if I understand you correctly, you need to take data to and from work? If so, a pocket hard drive or a USB Flash Drive are the way to go.
notechy is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 01:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default Re: Running office in two locations Help!!!!!!!!!!

Umm, you could use a briefcase to synchronise files
sir nerdalot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
office 2002 to office 2007 wc000 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-04-2007 03:40 AM
Office 2007 Product Activation philb101 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-28-2007 09:06 AM
Microsoft starts testing Office 2008 for Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-25-2007 01:31 PM
Vista and Office 2007 Schmidt1989 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-23-2007 12:25 AM
Open Office 2.2 released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-30-2007 12:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.