running 2 os's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2004, 04:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default running 2 os's

well i like to experiment a lot with my computer... (which is why im building a new one cuz this ones in rough shape thanks to all the abuse i give it )... and i was wondering wut the best method is to have 2 oses on one computer.. what i mean is what are the best programs out there that work sort of like boot magic in partitoin magic (i hate pm so dont even suggest that one lol).. if anyone has any input im all ears
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 05:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 130
Default

Why not just create 2 partitions on your new box and harddrive.
Then just make sure you install the earliest version of Windows
first. You will of course need to install all your programs and
transfer your files and update windows but you will be starting
out with a clean install.
__________________

Worked4me is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 05:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

well no in this current computer rite now i wanna experiment with 2 diff osses im runnin windows xp pro which is already installed on one hdd but then i was thinking of installing linux (suse) on the other one ( i have 2 hdds in this computer)... i just wanted what programs were availible to choose which os to boot up at startup
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 05:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 130
Default

If you have a spare harddrive then you can just hook them up
master, slave. Then partition, and install the OS, and programs.
If all works well then you can make a Ghost image of each and
while experimenting if the particular becomes hosed then just
reload your ghost image for that OS.
Worked4me is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 05:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

ok ok i shall try that
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 05:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 130
Default

I am not sure about Suse but Red Hat Linux when you already
have Win XP installed and then install Linux it reconizes that
there is another OS already installed and asks which OS you
want to be your default OS. I think this comes up on the Grub
Splash Screen, Sorry been a few months since I have used Linux.
Worked4me is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 10:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

i like mandrake linux
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via ICQ to justdoit Send a message via Yahoo to justdoit
Default

Grub , that's it , it's gorgeous pro

When you install linux , choose to install Grub on your MBR, then ul surely get one very cool startup screen, which will prompt you to choose to boot which system(xp or linux).
__________________

__________________
Questions ? Discussions ?
u can Contact me by:
icq: 332005496
msn: tbwises@hotmail.com
c\\c++\\vc\\mfc\\windows\\linux\\software

I\'ll try my best to help u, ul surely be welcome :)

/*
whiel(true){
if(havetime)
Fun=(Friends+Music+Movies);
else Money=(study+study);
}*/
justdoit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.