Run.dll error message - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2002, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Default Run.dll error message

I don't know if this is a hardware or a software problem but, here goes:

XP Professional, when I try to open the "Game Controllers" applet in Control Panel, I get "Run dll as an app has encountered a problem etc"

I have done a clean re-install but still get the same error before adding any software.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Gripper.
__________________

Gripper is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 11:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

happens even after you formatted and re-installed? if so then we can rule out software. Try resetting your bios to defaults. if it only happens when you go into game controllers, i would suspect its a probelm either with the serial, parrallel, or USB ports.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
All Seeing Eye
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 72
Default

if you can write the correct error it writes it would be great, thanks.
this might be oldfashioned or something, but run system check by norton system works and it should fix it..
If you can give the exact error I might be able to help better..
cheers...
azury is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

im sure its rundll.dll has cause an error in blah blah blah, same old stuff, just means windows tok a dump when he did what he did. and since its consistant for when he goes to game controllers, that narrows it down considerably. Norton wont work. It happened AFTER he re-installed. Its not a software problem if he did a clean re-install.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 11:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks guys. Tried default settings for BIOS, no result. Norton didn't find anything either. Error message is:

Run a DLL as an App has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

I can attach the full report if that would be of any help.

Gripper.
Gripper is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 12:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
All Seeing Eye
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 72
Default

hey.. I'm sorry to both of you... I didn't see that it was after he reinstalled and I didn't see €cniv's post when I wrote mine.. my bad.. I'm sorry..
I'll keep looking for an answer anyways..
azury is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 12:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Error message from System Information:

26/11/2002 16:58 Application Error Faulting application rundll32.exe, version 5.1.2600.0, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00130028.&#x000d;&#x000a;


Gripper.
Gripper is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 12:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Default

PROBLEM SORTED - thanks guys, particularly €cniv.

I disabled all the onboard parallel/serial/usb ports and everything appears to be OK. Now it's just a process of elimination.

Thanks again.

Gripper.
Gripper is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

No prob, bud! Glad to be of assistance.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-01-2002, 11:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default Conflict resolution

Yep, It definately sounds like a conflict. I would also make sure that your game controller software is made for Windows XP Pro. Sometimes lesser verisons cause this type of error.

If it is a conflict, I guess knowing what type of PC would be good. If it's a laptop, frequently the IR controller can conflict. If it's a desktop is it old/new. If it's older does it have Two game controllers installed? Anyway, I am assuming you figured this one out. Good luck either way.
__________________

brahm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.