Run command for partitions? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2005, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default Run command for partitions?

Geeze, I can't believe I can never remember this. I've had to use it like five times but it's always so rarely. There's a run command that gets you to a screen that lists all of your HDDs and their sizes/partitions, (un)allocated space, etc. I have a feeling it's like four words crammed together without many vowels or something... maybe not... anyone know?
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

fdisk for dos/win9x

disk management for xp/2k
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 09:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

he is asking the exact command prompt i think...
and i wouldn't use that, Personally i would use Partition magic works alot better.

i honestly never remember it either... (should be in an old post here but itd be hard to find)
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 09:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Yea I'm asking about the exact phrase you type into the run window. I'm 99% sure its not "disk management," but I can't check at school since they disable the ability. I think it's something like "windskmgmt" or something like that. I think I've tried that and it hasn't worked though. It's hard to search the forum or google for something like this when I don't know what it's called :P.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Ahh, I think it might be diskmgmt.msc. Like I said, can't check though, I'll have to wait til I get home.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Yep, that's the one (diskmgmt.msc). Just thought I'd confirm in case anyone else ever searches or is curious.
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.