Run As....... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2004, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Exclamation Run As.......

Hi,
Ok i recently got rid of a worm that infected my computer. I still have on of the problems that the worm cause. Everytime I go to run a program it will ask me which user do i want to run it as. There only one user...and thats me... I tried going into the user accounts and lookin in there but i couldnt find anything like that in there.. So if U you tell me how to get rid of that Rus As.... box that would be great! Thanks much!
__________________

coolboy696 is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 11:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

What operating system do you have?
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default

Windows XP Pro
coolboy696 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 02:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

That means you are not an administrator to the local machine or have enough privilege to install software. I would look at your account settings and make sure you are an administrator.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 10:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default

I am the administrator! Im 100% sure it say I am.
coolboy696 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

In W2K, there is an option where you can check "Always Run as the following user" or something similar. I'm not sure it's available in XP or not.

It would help to know what is the software you're trying to run. Some proggies (for a strange reason) like to ask that question whenever you're not logged in as the admin.

How did you remove the virus? Are you using a good AV software?
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default

The Virus was the sasser worm. And I do hav AVG. And it does it for all the programs on the computer!
coolboy696 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 08:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

oucchh.. Try doing a restore to the date you know you did not have the virus and that may work. If not I would boot from the Windows XP disc and do a "repair" on the OS.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.