RSS and WindowsUpdate not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2005, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to koltregaskes
Default RSS and WindowsUpdate not working

I've had this problem for a while (and like I've mentioned in my other 2 posts I have recently re-installed my system from scratch and still have this problem).

It appears the 2 are related but I cannot download any RSS feeds (I have used and tried IntraVnews and Newsgator - both programs that use Outlook) nor can I download any update available to me on WindowsUpdate.

OfficeUpdate is fine, but the problem 'seem' to start after I installed Office. I was able to download and install updates from WindowsUpdate with no problem at all, and luckily got all of them down and on before the problem started (bar one).

What happens with WindowsUpdate is that I can go to the page fine, I can search my computer for sofware that needs updating fine, but when I click on Install and the dialog box pops up listing the updates it's downlooad. The updates almost immediately come up with ...failed!.

The error message from the install history log is 80072F78 but I have followed many, many links from Google for this code and none of the solutions mentioned help.

I've also reported this to MS, we have gone through lots of things but they seemed to have given up.

Does anyone have any advice to find a solution?

koltregaskes is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240

Are you behind a firewall? (Hardware or Software?) And what version of word and windows are you running?

<a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to koltregaskes

I use ZoneAlarm Pro, I have a router but I've not touched the setings for the firewall on it. The router is a D-link DSL=604+ wireless job.

Word/Office = 2003
Windows XP Pro SP2
koltregaskes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.