restoring windows xp to out-of-box state - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2005, 12:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 22
Default restoring windows xp to out-of-box state

I need to know how to completely reboot windows xp from disc. When I insert the restore disc I get a
little pop up thing with a few options, one of them being "Install Windows Xp". This one
being the only logical one to select for my purposes. When I select this one I get a message
saying:
Setup cannot continue because the version of Windows on your computer is newer than the version
on the CD.

Warning: If you decide to delete the newer version of Windows that is currently installed on your
computer, the files and settings cannot be recovered.

Then it gives you the option to Continue, Cancle, or go to Details. It wont let me click continue so
Go to details. This takes me to a windows help and support page that instructs me to:

To install the version on the CD, restart your computer, boot from this CD, and follow the
instructions for a new installation.

Warning: The default setup options will replace your existing version of Windows with this version.
If you wish to keep both versions you must select a new destination folder for this version of
Windows. If you decide to delete the newer version of Windows that is currently installed on your
computer, the files and settings cannot be recovered.

This is where I am stuck. I have tried to be as precise with every piece of information as possible
but if you have any questions you need answered I will do my best to answer them. I need to do this
because my computer has been bogged down with all kinds of things that one wouldn't want on their
computer. Thanks for the help in advance
__________________

watchagonado is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 01:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Well first np for the advice.
i suggest a format with powermax.
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 01:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

do you have sp2 installed? if so, uninstall it and try again.
derrmc is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

i'm not sure i understand.

reboot your computer with the disc in the drive, when it says "press any to boot from CD", press a key. if it doesn't say that, then you need to set your bios options so that it boots to cd first.

after it boots to the cd, you will have the option of wiping your drive clean and reinstalling windows. you will lose all of your data, but i assume thats what you want to do.

i hope i answered your question.
__________________

MY 1337 SYST3M:
(1)case - generic
some ram.
45jiga-hurts intel pentium VIIteen hollywood
some more ram.
asusapaloozatron v7542 mobo
(9)5kb HDD
45x DVD+-/*
mouse(black)
urbanwks is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 06:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You need to boot off the cd, dont install it within windows and you will not get this error message.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 22
Default

i set dvd rom drive to 1st in boot order but i dont get the option to wipe my drive clean, just some other options
watchagonado is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 22
Default

And what are powermax and sp2?
watchagonado is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by derrmc
do you have sp2 installed? if so, uninstall it and try again.
he has sp2 and that why he has that option. check my sig for powermax cd iso to wipe your hard drive clean.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
he has sp2 and that why he has that option. check my sig for powermax cd iso to wipe your hard drive clean.
you think?
derrmc is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 01:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

powermax would just fix the problem... sorry when im tired i don't post that well.. just simple to the point answers.

boot up off the powermax floppy once you have it downloaded and it has created the floppy. then just follow the instructions it gives you. it shall format your disk for you, then try booting from the cd and installing
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.