Restoring Registry - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2006, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 37
Default Restoring Registry

I recently reformatted 2 of my hard drives and did a fresh install of Windows. I moved everything I wanted onto a folder in my 3rd hard drive and backed up my registry with Registry Repair Wizard 2006. Now when I backed up the registry I was running in Windows XP HOME Edition and now the new install is with Windows XP PRO Edition and if I try to use Registry Repair Wizard 2006 to reinstate the old registry, Windows won't load when I restart and I am assuming it is because it is a cross between the OS. So I am wondering if I can get Windows XP Home and do a full install of that, is it likely that the registry will work fine reinstated then?

PS: I had to do a full install with Windows XP Pro because it was the only full version I had. Also, I didn't realize that Windows has a method of backing up the registry itself... that probably would have been better, but hey you learn something about computers every day right?
__________________

Ares6735 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so you backed up everything to another hdd, backed up the registry and then reformatted and then reinstalled the backup of the older xp registry?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

If you were to do a clean install of XP Home...you shouldn't have any trouble getting all of your data back up and running.
ECTech is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Ok good, I am hoping that backup of the registry I made while running in XP Home will work when I do a clean install of XP Home.

To be clear... I backed up my data on my largest HD and then I backed up the registry after that with that Registry Wizard 2006 and then I formatted my 30Gb and 80Gb Hard drives and I then did a clean install of Windows XP Pro because it was the only full version I had. However, I am hoping the old registry will work if I try to reinstall it on a clean install of Windows XP Home, which I will try to get a copy of today.
Ares6735 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

dont import your old registry, there is no need for that, all you are looking for is problems when doing that
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Ok... well I am going to do an install of Windows XP Home anyway... if I dont restore the registry then I have about 200 things I have to reinstall, reconfigure, redownload, etc so what else do I do? It will be a clean install and format anyway, so if it creates problems I can allways format and start fresh again...
__________________

Ares6735 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.