Restoring a Hard Drive Partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2004, 09:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Restoring a Hard Drive Partition

I just got this emails from a freind of mine, I am just wondering if you can help this (it too late at night for me to think right now, and as a rule, I do not work on computer after 10:30pm at night)

Quote:
I have accidentally format my hard drive using “Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Computer Management”, I select the drive, right click and format. Can you post to Tech form and see if I can unformat my hard drive? Can Norton System Works help? Can you get the Norton System Works 2004 for me?
Oh-kay.... Now I found that in my expience in the past that System Works has been a waste of time when i come down to recoving hard drives. But it some one had any success stories, I would like to now.

I am thinking MAYBE Partition Magic 8 to recover the drives?

However if you have any other suggestions to restore a partition, I would like to know.

Thank you.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

Well it is going to be kinda hard because he used microsoft format. Partition magic would have worked if you used the same program from my experinace.
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

Wow a nice list you have there
mre30 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

WHOA! Thanks for list dude!!!!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Smile well, this is a suprise....

Okay.... This is strange. I have just plugged this drive into my test bed to see if I can restore data....... and IT'S ALL THERE.

Not sure what is going on here. But it's good that I still have access to the data.

It turns out that this drive was one of the drives that was on a RAID. And the person that did delete this drive confirmed with me that it was THAT DRIVE that he accidently deleted every thing from.

So I am a little concerned that is going to happen if we plug this drive back in to machine that it oringally came from.

Personally, I am thinking about suggesting the following :-

Since the data does seem to be there, I can planning on suggestiong the following.

BEFORE RE-INSTALLING THE DRIVE, remove the RAID, and make sure that there is nothing there on the other drive.
THEN INSTALL this drive.
Then Rebuild the RAID again.

Sounds good???
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 12:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question And I thought RAIDs Mirrored Each Other

I just go my hands on both drives. My freind his really lucky.

One of the Drives has nothing on it
The other Drive still has his data there.

The data looks like it's all there with no coruption.

This is a good thing for me.



One thing that does puzzle me was that I under the impression that RAID MIRRORED EVERYTHING in real time. There for you make one change one drive, the change is then carried over to the other. It's a VIA RAID on an ASUS P4P800 Deluxe Motherboard.
I am trying to work out why this did not happen here when the partition got deleted.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default

if the drive with the data is fine and the other one has nothing on it right why dont you just copy the data to the new drive. ALSO will an upgrade to windows 2k from 98 keep all the program files/files if I keep it fat?
__________________

__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.