Resize NTSF partition w/ PartitionMagic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2004, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Default Resize NTSF partition w/ PartitionMagic

Resize NTSF partition w/ PartitionMagic

I have installed XP on an new 120GB HD.

I now want to add an extended partition and then some partitions in there.

I used NTFS for the XP.

Now when I go into PM, I can't add an extended partition.

The C: partition is taking the whole drive space and I can't resize.

I did this before with a 30GB but used FAT32.

Any ideas?
__________________

thewolfe is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 08:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to blackcomb
Default

what version of PM are you using, also is it activated? i use 8.0 and also have a 120 gig and it partitions just fine, also when making pre changes like telling it how big you want the partition to be, do you apply the changes? should work from there
__________________

blackcomb is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Default

I have 6 ands I understand it won't work w/ NTSF so....I'm going to re-install and use FAT32
thewolfe is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to blackcomb
Default

well fat32 sux, sorry
blackcomb is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Default

Now I'm considering purchasing partition Magic 8 and using NTSF. A downside to NTSF?
thewolfe is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 05:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thewolfe
Now I'm considering purchasing partition Magic 8 and using NTSF. A downside to NTSF?
Let's clarify - that's NTFS as in file system.

The one major drawback is the overhead. But on a 120 GB HDD - that should be a very minor one as you will have plenty of room to work with.

By the way, I use PM 6.0 and it works with NTFS partitions just fine.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Default

What's the largest size drive you've used with it?
thewolfe is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 01:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thewolfe
What's the largest size drive you've used with it?
The issue is not how much NTFS can support, but rather how large of a HDD your Windows OS can support.

I have a 200 GB internal IDE drive formatted with NTFS. (W2K OS) I like to use separate partitions since I dual boot with Win98 and keep all my programs and games and separate partitions. PM will should see the entire capacity of the HDD as long as your BIOS/ OS sees its correctly.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 05:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Default

I bought PM 8 and all is well.

Thanks for the posts.
__________________

thewolfe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.