Repairing windows XP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2006, 01:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default Repairing windows XP!


I have been having problems with windows XP lately...

most of the programs I try to open just close with an error message..and then I have to open them again, some open the second time, some don't...Also I've been lagging a lot in the online games...

This started happening when I was getting some files from a keygen website and my antivirus detected a virus there, which I asked my antivirus to erase and it did with success...

After that I ran: Ad-Aware SE Pro, Spybot S&D, XoftSpy SE, The Cleaner, Registry mechanic, Error Doctor, RegDoctor, CCleaner, CleanUp, Spyware Doctor and system mechanic...

A lot of reg errors were fixed, a couple of spyware were found and erased, and a couple of trojans also were ridden of...

But the problem persists...

So I tried this : sfc /scannow and windows found no errors to repair...

So I decided to do a repair from my Windows XP disc, so I went into repair and when it got into Dos, it asked me for my administrator password, but I don't have any pass...never made one, and the only user on the computer is me, I went into users, im the only one and I have administrative rights and don't have a pass...

S what should I do?

Thank you

Heloyse is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 01:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka

All you should do when it asks you that is press enter, I THINK, let me klnow if that works for you.

Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 02:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20

I already tried that, when I press enter it goes back to C:...but then i dont know what to do
Heloyse is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 03:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

That is for manual repair (i believe) when I do a windows xp repair I don't press R the first time I'm prompted. Instead press enter to get to the next screen like you're normally installing xp and you should have the option to select the partition and do a repair on it (by pressing R at this point I believe). It's been a while since I've had to do this but this should at least give you an idea.
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.