Repair Install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2006, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default Repair Install

I am running Windws XP Professional, and I keep gettin' errors. Like Runtime errors, and others that I can't remember. I would like to do a repair install to try and fix the errors. Yet, whenever I boot from the Windows XP CD, I get into the setup screen, I press enter, then F8, but I can't repair the disk, I can only reinstall the OS, I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong?!?!?! I have done a repair install on the same disk, with the same CD.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Follow these directions:

http://www.windowsxpprofessional.win...exfullpage.htm
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

I've done everything right, but when I get to where I can choose to repair Pro, I don't get that screen, I just get a screen that says "Partition C" "D" ect. ect...

Edit : Could it have anything to do with my Professional system NOT having a boot.ini?
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Default

what is with you people and being so worried about that boot file? Boot.ini doesn't have anything to do with formating or repairing a HDD using the windows CD. You probibly just missed an option or something. Also, make sure that the partition is NTFS, otherwise it will require a formate and most likely won't give you the option of repairing. Other than that, you stumped me.
OutThere is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Oh it doesn't? Is that why when I didn't have a boot.ini file, Windows Setup could not perform a Repair Install because it could not detect my installed OS, yet, when I went into Windows Setup with the "Repair Console," used bootcfg /rebuild. Rebooted, I had my "boot.ini" file back, rebooted and the repair install worked fine?
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.