Repair Install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2006, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default Repair Install

I am running Windws XP Professional, and I keep gettin' errors. Like Runtime errors, and others that I can't remember. I would like to do a repair install to try and fix the errors. Yet, whenever I boot from the Windows XP CD, I get into the setup screen, I press enter, then F8, but I can't repair the disk, I can only reinstall the OS, I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong?!?!?! I have done a repair install on the same disk, with the same CD.

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

Follow these directions:

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501

I've done everything right, but when I get to where I can choose to repair Pro, I don't get that screen, I just get a screen that says "Partition C" "D" ect. ect...

Edit : Could it have anything to do with my Professional system NOT having a boot.ini?
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37

what is with you people and being so worried about that boot file? Boot.ini doesn't have anything to do with formating or repairing a HDD using the windows CD. You probibly just missed an option or something. Also, make sure that the partition is NTFS, otherwise it will require a formate and most likely won't give you the option of repairing. Other than that, you stumped me.
OutThere is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501

Oh it doesn't? Is that why when I didn't have a boot.ini file, Windows Setup could not perform a Repair Install because it could not detect my installed OS, yet, when I went into Windows Setup with the "Repair Console," used bootcfg /rebuild. Rebooted, I had my "boot.ini" file back, rebooted and the repair install worked fine?
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.