Removing XP SP2 from Windows Xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2005, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Removing XP SP2 from Windows Xp

It time for my bi-annual format hard drive, install my OS.

Currently i am operating Windows Xp SP1a. The problem that I have with Windows XP SP2 is that every time I install Windows XP SP2, every time I right click on my desk top, it causes my computer to freeze up for about 3 minutes.

I have upgraded both Ram and CPU, and the last time I formated (Easter 05) I noticed the same problem was there. Even when it was a fresh install.
So for the passed few months, I have been force to used a pirated Windows Xp Pro disk as my legit copy of Windows Xp has SP2.

This week end, I am going to TRY to re-install the operating system, however this time I am using my Legit Windows Xp SP2 disk. In doing so, I am hoping that I can finally sort out this right click windows freeze problem. However if it does not work, it there any way that I can remove the Xp SP2 and just leave it as SP1a?

Or would I be better off in the long run just sticking to Windows 2000 Sp4?


Finally, does any one have a Gigabyte GA-7VAXP Ultra Motherboard and has expereinced any problems with running Windows Xp Pro SP2?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Removing XP SP2 from Windows Xp

I had an issue with a logitech USB mouse (BSOD) and sp2. I replace it.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Re: Removing XP SP2 from Windows Xp

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I had an issue with a logitech USB mouse (BSOD) and sp2. I replace it.
Hmmmmm..... that is a comforting thought......

I do have a USB Mouse. However it's a Microsoft 5 Button Intelli Optical Mouse. I will check that out.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Thumbs up Re: Re: Removing XP SP2 from Windows Xp

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I had an issue with a logitech USB mouse (BSOD) and sp2. I replace it.
Currently I am using my MS IntelliMouse Optical via the PS2 connection.
And it seem to be working now.

It looks like it was the mouse that was causing these issues all along.


Thank you EricB, I would not never guessed the mouse.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Re: Re: Removing XP SP2 from Windows Xp

Quote:
Originally posted by Harper
Currently I am using my MS IntelliMouse Optical via the PS2 connection.
And it seem to be working now.

It looks like it was the mouse that was causing these issues all along.


Thank you EricB, I would not never guessed the mouse.
no problem. it took me forever to figure that out on my computer
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.