removing past crap from spyware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 01:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default removing past crap from spyware

ok....heres a challenge for u computer people. When my sister uses my computer, she manages to get a ****load of spyware onto my comp. I would do system retore like ive been telling people, but this was during my finals, so i had too much important data lying around.

well, my problem isnt removing a spyware, its removing all signs of it. One of the biggest problems i have is that when u run msconfig->startup, i see a bunch of unchecked boxes with the names of past spyware. Its not like it effects my comp startup, but it just annoys me that its still floating aruond there.

see, i know im supposed to surf around my registry...but is there a faster, easier way?
__________________

oblivion is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I used Spybot to remove all those annoying leftovers in startup.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

if you are running XP (and by the the looks of the image as your sig, you are)

Do a search on google for an application called regscrub XP.
ADZ is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Matrix: Personal Firewall"

You might want to Buy Norton Personal Firewall as fast as you can. Because at any moment (And i mean any!) Somone can hack into your computer weather or not you're online, and weather or not your computer is on!

Hurry!:

www.symantec.com
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.