Remote Desktop DPI adjustment - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2017, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

Anyone know if there is a way in Windows 10 Pro to be able to set the DPI settings of a remote Desktop session other than setting a custom resolution via the settings menu and then when connected using the Zoom function (Right clicking the title bar of the windows and selecting zoom percentage)? I'd like to be able to set the DPI within the remote session if possible. And as an added level of difficulty this all must be done within the stock Windows Remote Desktop App. Can't use remote desktop Manager as well as the DPI of the host must stay at Native (1920x1080 at 100%) while the Remote needs to be at 1366x768 at 125%.

If there is no way to set the DPI via RDP is there a line in the saved RDP file when opened with notepad that I can edit or add to set the window zoom level automatically?
__________________

__________________
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 04:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

You can set the resolution of the session under mstsc > show options > display
__________________

__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

I can change the Resolution but I need the DPI to change so everything in the RDP window isn't microscopic to read while keeping the DPI of the Client PC should stay at 100%
__________________
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

Are you using your credentials or the clients credentials when RDP? AFAIK DPI is a user option.
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 08:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

2 different sets of credentials. One PC is on a Domain while one is not
__________________
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 10:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

So if you change the DPI it also changes it for the other user? TIL
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 10:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

when remoting in from Windows 10 the RDP App is written to automatically match the remote PC's DPI with that of the Host. I want to keep the Host at 100% while setting the Remote PC to something Like 125% so that the icons, text and objects are zoomed in for better viewing.

Host:Windows 10 Pro
Display: 1920x1080
Screen: 13"
DPI: 100%

remote: Windows 7 Pro
Display: 1366x768
DPI needs to be: 125%
__________________
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 12:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
rjkreider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

This seems to work for 2003 TS and I have tested this on my Server 2008/2008 R2/SP1Ö Also, the download link for TS-DPI.zip does not seem to be working last time I checked (4/21/2012).

Cached download TS-DPI.zip here: http://cache.gmane.org//gmane/os/sol...ay/381-001.bin


After research, this seems to work well:

http://blogs.oracle.com/ThinkThin/en...ver_font_sizes

You may have noticed that users cannot access the Advanced button under Display Properties. This prevents users from setting the DPI.

Some users may want a larger overall font experience, unfortunately setting each of the fonts bigger under windows is kind of a pin. Additionally there is no nice way of making scroll bars, widgets, etc. bigger.

This is from my blog from back in 2012. I do not know if this will work for 2012/10. But it is worth a shot.

HTH
rjkreider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

It has to be with the Stock RDP client. No Third party software
__________________
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 03:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
rjkreider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Remote Desktop DPI adjustment

Quote:
Originally Posted by xerolen View Post
It has to be with the Stock RDP client. No Third party software
They are registry settings to apply for the users. No third party software.
__________________

rjkreider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rdp, remote desktop, windows 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DPI - Need help understanding - DPI Zombie Web Graphics and Design 0 07-25-2007 06:11 PM
High DPI Optical Gaming Mice Anphrax System Upgrades 2 04-15-2006 12:49 AM
scanners, color dpi, questions, concerns, beef jerky Jayce Off Topic Discussion 4 02-12-2006 10:19 AM
Allow users to change DPI... Inaris Microsoft Windows and Software 2 01-31-2006 02:24 PM
Verifying DPI Data Pool _Jack Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 10-23-2005 09:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.