Remote Desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2006, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Lee05162004 Send a message via Yahoo to Lee05162004
Question Remote Desktop

How do I setup Remote Desktop between my laptop and desktop computers? I've tried a few things but everytime I try to connect I get a message saying that there are no terminal servers running or something.
__________________

Lee05162004 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

This link may help you... http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...p_03may16.mspx
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

in the control panel, system icon, remote tab make sure both are checked and make sure windows firewall is not blocking it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Lee05162004 Send a message via Yahoo to Lee05162004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
in the control panel, system icon, remote tab make sure both are checked and make sure windows firewall is not blocking it
I have done that and I still get the same error message.
Lee05162004 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

xp home or pro?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Lee05162004 Send a message via Yahoo to Lee05162004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
xp home or pro?
XP Pro on desktop & Media Center Edition on laptop.
Lee05162004 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Enabling Multiple Remote Desktop Sessions in Windows XP Professional and Media Center Edition 2005
If you have ever used a real remote computer system like Citrix, then you have probably been craving multiple Remote Desktop sessions since you first fired up Windows XP Professional and/or Media Center Edition. Here is a HACK (translated: USE AT YOUR OWN RISK), to enable multiple Remote Desktop sessions on your XP Pro or MCE 2005 box:

NOTE: You will have to have knowledge of the Windows operating system and more specifically the Windows Registry. If you have no experience with the registry, then I would recommend you find someone who does or leave these alone. I do not make any kind of warranty that this will work for you or your friends. This is provided for entertainment purposes only. Don’t call me if your computer stops working. Got it?

Print these directions so that you have them to work from.
Restart your computer in Safe Mode - Follow this link to learn how to restart Windows XP in Safe Mode
Turn off/disable Remote Desktop Connection (RDC) and Terminal Services
Right click My Computer
Select Properties
Click on the Remote tab at the top of the window
UNCHECK the box next to, “Allow users to connect remotely to this computer“
Click OK
Go to Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services
Find Terminal Services in the list
Right click on Terminal Services and click Properties
In the Startup Type box, select Disabled
Click OK to close the window
Next you will replace the current version of the Terminal Services DLL (termsrv.dll) with an unrestricted version from a previous release of Terminal Services.
Here is a copy of the Terminal Services DLL - Save it to your Desktop or other suitable location
Using a file manager like Windows Explorer open C:\Windows\system32\dllcache
Rename the file termsrv.dll to termsrv_dll.bak or whatever you would like.
Copy the downloaded termsrv.dll file (the one you just downloaded from the web) to C:\Windows\system32\dllcache
Open the C:\Windows\system32 folder
Delete the file termsrv.dll in C:\Windows\system32
Now we can edit the Windows Registry to enable more than one RDP connection. Go to Start -> Run and type regedit - Hopefully you knew that already
Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Terminal Server\Licensing Core
Add a DWORD Key named EnableConcurrentSessions and give it a value of 1
Close the Registry Editor window
Go to Start -> Run and type gpedit.msc to run the Group Policy Editor
Browse to Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Terminal Services and double click Limit number of connections
Select the Enabled button and enter the number of connections you would like to enable….at least 2.
Restart Windows
Right click My Computer and select Properties.
Click on the Remote tab at the top of the window
CHECK the box next to, “Allow users to connect remotely to this computer“
Click OK
Go to Start -> Control Panel ->Administrative Tools -> Services. Select Terminal Services from the list and double click it or right-click -> Properties. Set the Startup Type to Manual.

Restart Windows/Computer
You should be good to go.

Source
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 03:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

go to cmd (command prompt) and type ipconfig on both computer. write down both ip's. give each computer a password.

when you open remote desktop. type the other computer ip in, then their username and password when prompt
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 09:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Tight VNC works very well!! TightVNC
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.