remote access program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2004, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default remote access program

I need suggestions for LAN remote access programs. I love VNC, but I'm needing this for use on a small business LAN. People here tend to be more posessive of their machines than they should be, and unrecognized programs that run sys tray icons tend to get shut down with no one asking if it's a needed program or not.
I'd like to find something that works like VNC, will run as a service at boot, but has an option to not use a sys tray icon.

Any suggestions? Machines are running 98, 2000 and XP Pro.
The one making the connections to the remotes is XP.
__________________

canooten is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Have you tried PCAnywhere?
http://enterprisesecurity.symantec.c...fm?ProductID=2


Or.. if you are willing to try the ultimate... SMS 2.0 (Systems Manageement Server)
http://www.microsoft.com/smserver/default.asp
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

canooten, dameware gives you gui remote access. you can disable the sys tray icon however they are still going to know whats going when the machine slows down and network usage is 100%.
__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default

I'm looking for a small, preferably freeware utility. PCAnywhere gets my use for accessing my home PC from work, but it's too bloated to control a machine over a network (for my wants anyway).

Is Dameware really that bad with system resources? I've heard that name before, but never used it.
canooten is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

i like vnc as well, dameware is the smallest & 'cleanest' your gonna find. of course, if the user looks in the task manager and ends the process its not going to work either.
__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default

I'm not really concerned with someone finding it in the task manager, it's the taskbar icon that I want to get rid of.

I'll get a demo of dameware and see what it looks like. I know there is a way to rid VNC of the taskbar icon by adding and changing some registry lines, but I'm rather leary of doing that.
canooten is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Default

get remote admin from farmatec i believe, just google it and try the demo, i use it to fix computers that go bad here in the states. its small but i think it does have a icon, maybe a way to mask it?

-gkhan
gkhan is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Default

oops, i just saw it, it does have hide tray icon
i think this will work for u, its about 3 mb and works really well.

-gkhan
gkhan is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 01:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, radmin is the way to go. Users can't tell when you have the screen active either. It's free to try and only $30 to buy. I bought this a while ago and haven't been disappointed since.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.