Reinstalling Windows 95 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2006, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Reinstalling Windows 95

OK.. My aunt asked me yesterday to come up and reinstall Windows 95 so she could put some games on there. So i went up there and sat down and started deleating some programs that she didnt need and i must of came across of deleating a program and it wouldnt let me back in to teh "add and remove programs". So then she couldnt find her windows 95 disc and so we tried using the Windows XP disc she got with her other computer. Half way through the installlation, It said You need a 64MB ram and you have a 32MB ram. So then i took out that disc and she finally found the 95 CD. We stuck that in and ran all through it and it asked me to restart the computer to take changes and i did and after it go through the bio's menu or whatever it was all these errors started popping up say like "Your disk drive has failed" restart the computer with the windows 95 cd and reinstall it. And it said push a button so i pressed enter and more stuff came up.. After about 10 i pushed it, i came to the last one. I cant remember what is said. I pushed enter again and her computer shut down. Is there any way i can get it back so i can atleast get to the start of windows?? I really need help!! THANKS!!
__________________

cyclones is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 12:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I would first try and format the harddrive with a Windows98 start disk.
http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/file/progFDISK-c.html

Probably the problem you must did was formated the harddrive as NTFS, Win95 cannot read that. You might have to format it into FAT16 depending on your version.

Version Number Version Supports FAT32?
4.00.950 Original Version of Windows 95 No
4.00.950a Original version of Win95 with Service Pack #1 installed No
4.00.1111 OEM-only release of Win95 with FAT32 support (known as OSR2 or Win95b) Yes
4.00.1212 OEM-only release of Win95 with FAT32 & USB support (known as OSR2.1 or Win95c) Yes
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

How do i get ahold of that disc? Should that disc have come with her computer?
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

It probably does, but since the drive is NTFS you won't be able to read it with the 95 disc, you can download it, it's a floppy disk. You need to also set her BIOS to boot from the Floppy then CD then HD. In order to correctly install Windows back.

http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

You can get either Windows 95 Original or Windows 98 Custom, No Ramdrive. Both should work.
Law is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

Which one do i need?

Windows 95 Original | Mirror1 | 2
Windows 95 Version B | Mirror1 | 2

So you want me to download a bootdisk on this computer and then put the floppy in her computer right?

Thanks
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Get Windows 95 Original, run it and it should make you a boot disk in a floppy. Boot with it and follow the link for how to use fdisk http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/file/progFDISK-c.html
Law is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 03:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

What do u mean get Windows 95 and run it? Run it on my computer or hers?
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You need to make the boot disk on your computer, it will install on a floppy then you just use it on her computer to boot and run FDISK.
Law is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 05:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

Our floppy drive does not work on this computer. Any other options?
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Angry RE:

My dad got this thing that you put it the search box and it erases your whole hard drive and everything. Do you think this would also erase the drives like the CD Rom Drive or the Floppy Drive?
__________________

__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.