reinstalling problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2010, 10:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: reinstalling problem

.......

idk, reset cmos and try again? sounds like the drive has some issues of its own ya?
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 10:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: reinstalling problem

^already tried that.

mak that error thing i was talking about is : Windows can not be installed to this disk. This computerr's hardware may not support booting to this disk. Ensure the disks controller is enabled in the computer's bios menu.

Like i said I looked in the bios for something along the lines of that but could not find anything.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 10:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: reinstalling problem

Try switching from IDE to AHCI in the bios, or vice versa.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 10:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: reinstalling problem

^nope, i switched to AHCI and got the same problem as in the last post of mine.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: reinstalling problem

lol use a different drive? i would have at this point, but im just too impatient
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: reinstalling problem

^its the only other drive that i have that i can install on atm. All the partitions i cant install on this drive. No point in installing on the drive that is failing, and i need to get some stuff off that drive anyway. Ughhh....pain in the ***. And it just so happens that my laptop is broken right now as well. Looks like im putting my folding rig back together as a temporary rig untill i can get this sorted out.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: reinstalling problem

ya sounds like quite a pickle.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: reinstalling problem

^perhaps mak will know what is wrong when next he is on...im hoping lol. Cause i really cant afford to go out and buy a new hard drive, i just bought a newheadset today because it was loosing sound in one ear.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 12:05 AM   #19 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: reinstalling problem

couldnt you install win 7 on a flash drive, setting your bios to boot first removable? just need a giant flash drive like 4-8gigs. then get your data off the other drive? then worry about the hdd later? idk.....i know this doesnt fix the problem but atleast you could get your old data off the other drive....
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 12:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: reinstalling problem

^well its not like the drive is going to die faster not in use sitting there. So i don't see the point (i dont need the data right now or anything its just a few things i dont want to lose, such as pictures, saved games, my music library, etc) i dont know, the drive from my foldign rig i knows works with this current hardward without changing reinstalling the os (not good to do that, but i can do it to get the data if need be) im gonna contact seagate tomorrow to see if i can rma it AGAIN...or better yet, get a refund, but that would be unlikely.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having a strange problem NexDeus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-20-2009 01:20 PM
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.