Reinstalling my OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2006, 04:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Default Reinstalling my OS

I've been having a look around these forums, and ive seen that when you install a new mobo, you have to reinstall the OS. However, i dont have an xp cd, i got a HP computer that has a partition on the hard drive that is especially for reinstalling xp. So i was wondering, if i will be able to use my recovery partition to reinstall xp if i get a new mobo?
__________________

forcemaster99 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Well,
I'm not sure that you can use this recovery partition.
I suppose it has info about your present hardware, and if you'll upgrade the mobo it can entail a problem.
__________________

Defence is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I think that recovery partitions are for a specific computer. They have all the vital info form that PC stored on it. Just like a Image would. So i dont think it will work.

Plus not to mention that M$ changed their licenses. Now if you change your mobo you have to get a new license. Which means buying a new license from them. That is to be totally legit.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 183
Default

Normally when you replace a motherboard you can do a repair installation of Windows BEFORE booting it up so it will recognize the new hardware. I dont think you will have that option with your recovery partition.
wasisnt is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Reinstalling my OS

Quote:
Originally posted by forcemaster99
I've been having a look around these forums, and ive seen that when you install a new mobo, you have to reinstall the OS. However, i dont have an xp cd, i got a HP computer that has a partition on the hard drive that is especially for reinstalling xp. So i was wondering, if i will be able to use my recovery partition to reinstall xp if i get a new mobo?
Not neccesarely. There's a 50% chance it will work without fresh install.
Don't know about the restore partition.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

what about just saving the

ntdetect
ntldr
boot.ini

onto a floppy and boot from that, then save them to appropriate place?
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If the partition has a "recovery" installation, then no, because it will attempt to install the exact same software and drivers, and you'll be back to square one...or toast. One of the two.

What you should do is talk to their tech support and see what they recommend for doing such an action with their recovery partition.

The real problem with replacing the mobo is not the boot file, but all the drivers and registry connections. The boot file essentially just says "the car's engine is located here." It doesn't tell the OS how to communicate with the hardware.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Default

if i bought an xp cd, would i be able to use that to install xp onto any hardware configuration, 'cause if i can, i'll probably just do that instead.
forcemaster99 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 02:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by forcemaster99
if i bought an xp cd, would i be able to use that to install xp onto any hardware configuration, 'cause if i can, i'll probably just do that instead.
Yes, unless it's a Macintosh or some other non x86 compliant machine.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 03:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by forcemaster99
if i bought an xp cd, would i be able to use that to install xp onto any hardware configuration, 'cause if i can, i'll probably just do that instead.
First I'd contact the comp manufacturer and ask them about obtaining a CD. If they will issue you one, it'll be cheaper. If they won't, contact Microsoft and (calmly) explain the situation. They may offer you a disk at a cheaper rate.

If not, you'll have to buy. Fortunately, XP is cheap now. It's been out long enough for the price to have come down.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.