Is this a registry problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2003, 05:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default Is this a registry problem?

I installed a piece of trial software for evaluation and applied a crack to obtain full functionality, the crack appeared to do the trick and the softwares splash screen said it was now registered. However I could not create the Ebook (software is active ebook compiler) despite trying several different cracks. Still I was happy with what the software could do and was prepared to purchase a copy, the trouble is that even after uninstalling the software and installing a new download of the trial it keeps coming up as being registered, even without applying the crack, and the program still wont carry out it's final task of creating an ebook.

My instincts tell me that there must be an entry in the registry somewhere that i need to delete, but still being a comparitive novice I find the prospect of twiddling with the reeistry a little scary ( a lot scary).

Any suggestions?

Thank you

Eden
__________________

edenworkshops is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 03:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 300
Default

yea it would be something in the registery but im just like you, rege fidling too adavanced
__________________

__________________
*PyRo* is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 07:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Default

You could try restoring the registry from a backup made before the initial install . . .
gruntwerk is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 07:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

If using WinME try the disgusting System Restore :-)
piggysmile is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

hi gruntwerk
me is very iggorant, i using win2000, does this have a system restore thingy?
Thanks for reply.

Happy Christmas
edenworkshops is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Last known good configuration.. space bar during startup. I don't remember if that works for registry problems though.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
I installed a piece of trial software for evaluation and applied a crack to obtain full functionality, the crack appeared to do the trick and the softwares splash screen said it was now registered.
ok we don't support program cracks here, but since you are trying to get rid of the crack we can help you do that.

on boot press f8 and select 'last known good configuration that worked' and if you have a dual boot system you will have to select the OS you installed it on
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 04:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks everyone for your help in this.

Happy Christmas

Eden
__________________

edenworkshops is offline  
Closed Thread

« Boot | I/O error »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.