Registry problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2005, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default Registry problem

I'm leaning towards reloading this computer, but wanted to check to make sure there's nothing I can do.

I've got a friends system who's kid loaded a game on her machine without her permission. The game never would never finish loading and the install had to be cancelled. Next time the machine was rebooted, the windows XP screen comes up, then a blue screen with the following:

stop: c0000218 -{registry file failure}
registry cannot load the Hive (file)
or its log or alternate
it is corrupt, absent, or cannot writable

It then does a physical memory dump and says to contact the system admin for further assistance.

Anything I can try, or should I just reload it? I've read up on, but don't see anythign that helps me if I can't load Windows at all.

canooten is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229

try booting to safe mode, remove all traces of the game in msconfig and in the registry.
may take some work

what is the game?


<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 10:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276

I'm not sure what game it was. I know the kid tried it on his computer and it wouldn't complete, then he tried it on his mom's. Big trouble.

Anyway, I've tried safe mode and last good configuration and get nothing. It takes different routes, but always winds up at the same blue screen.

I'm thinking it's dead. I was able to get in and back up her data with Knoppix, so reloading isn't a huge deal other than the time it takes to do it.
canooten is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 12:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

you have an option or two, but I'm not sure you'll like them...
1. You can make a copy of the file that is reported to be corrupt and fix it.
2. load the default software hive by changing the current name to .new or whatever and then removing the name software.old to software (no extention) That will let the system use the original hive.
3. system restore from the XP recovery console... (probably the best option)

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.