Registry Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2005, 12:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Just reformat ; )
that would do it.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 12:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Look... You can either spend a week trying to "pin point" this issue or you can spend a hour and sledge hammer it. Its up to you.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 12:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Look... You can either spend a week trying to "pin point" this issue or you can spend a hour and sledge hammer it. Its up to you.
u can do a reformat and reinstall in an hour??
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 01:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

i can do it with a (quick) reformat in under 45 minutes using an image.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 01:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

No problem....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 05:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I hope you have not given in to the rebuild thing yet... What you need to do it run dcomcnfg.exe and open the Component services. That will prompt you for the creation of the com object.

Should resolved the problem.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

would u mind telling me exactly what to do in this? because i dont see any promp for a new object.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 01:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

sorry, that was for another post...

try this.

run CMD and then type this:

msiexec.exe /x {guid} /qb
where guid is the one in the message.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 06:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

ok i did that and it gave me this error. And i can assure u i cannot uninstall it from add/remove because its not there!

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 06:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

With that "Ccleaner" program u can uninstall programs and has a much more thorough list then windows "add/remove programs".
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.