Registry Help - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 11:46 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

yup it should be once you plug the drive in and it thinks it is new hardware and the new hardware wizard starts going in the corner then you know you got everything but if it doesnt then you know you missed one. so go ahead and reinstall it now.

EDIT: i have to go i will check on this post in the morning to see how you did.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 11:59 PM   #32 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Everything installed perfectly, but it still does not show up in My Computer.
__________________

xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:26 AM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

it can hide drive letters too try this. Look up TWEAKUI and use that to see if drive letters are hidden if they are make it visible again.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:44 AM   #34 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

I got TweakUI and the drive letters are all checked. I looked in my BIOS just now though, and it just recognized my external hard drive. There is an option in the BIOS to configure this hard drive but it is greyed out. Any ideas on that?
xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:53 AM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Here is the solution.
In most cases the problem is in MBR (Master Boot Record) created in your drive's MBR sector by OS you had before upgrade or patch with service pack etc. So, basically what we need to do to get our HDD back to life is to write the MBR signature (the Hex Word 0xAA55) to your drive's MBR sector.

It is easy to do.
1. Download this utiility:
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Download

2. UNzip it somewhere on your computer then find and run "testdisk_win.exe"


Here is what you will see on your screen when running Test disk:

-------
TestDisk 6.2-WIP, Data Recovery Utility, November 2005
Christophe GRENIER <grenier@cgsecurity.org>
http://www.cgsecurity.org


Select a media (use Arrow keys, then press ENTER):
Disk /dev/hdc - 708 MB / 675 MiB
Disk /dev/sda - 120 GB / 111 GiB
Disk /dev/sdb - 120 GB / 111 GiB


( in the liness above you will see YOUR hard drives), so select the one which you have problem with, then press "ENTER")

[Proceed ] [ Quit ]

----------------------------------------------------


Next step is to select the partition table type
You will see on your screen something like:

---------------------------------------------

Disk /dev/sda - 120 GB / 111 GiB

Please select the partition table type, press ENTER when done.
[ Intel ] Intel/PC partition
[ Mac ] Apple partition map
[ None ] Non partioned media
[ Sun ] Sun Solaris partition
[ XBox ] XBox partition
---------------------------------------------

So, select [ Intel ] and press enter

Next screen:

---------------------------------------------

Disk /dev/sda - 120 GB / 111 GiB

[ Analyze ] Analyze current partition structure and search for lost partitions
[ Advanced ] Filesystem utils
[ Geometry ] Change disk geometry
[ Options ] modify options
[ MBR code ] ......
---------------------------------------------

You need to Select "Analyze" then press enter

New screen will appear with something like:
---------------------------------------------

Disk /dev/sda - 120 GB / 111 GiB

Current partition structure:
-------------------------
1 * FAT32 blah blah blah............
---------------------------------------------

You don`t need to change anything , Just press ENTER

New screen appear which will look almost the same, the only difference that on the bottom you will find result of the disk structure test. If your disk is not damaged ( in most cases it is will not be find as damaged. it is just misconfigured) so just press "ENTER" to proceed to the last step.

NOTE: If your drive found as damaged you can recover it using the same utility ( how to do this? see docs on authors site)

Now we are almost done!
After you pressed "Enter" in previous step you will see something like:

---------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------

Disk /dev/sda - 120 GB / 111 GiB
1 * FAT32 0 10 blah blah bla.......
---------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------

And on the bottom:

[ Quite ] [Search] {Write]

--------------------------

We need to select [ WRITE] option. Use right arrow on your keyboard , select [WRITE] then press ENTER.

DOne!

NOW the very last step:
disconncet your external drive from your PC and plug it in again
-------------
That`s it!

I am sure now you are saying YEEEEESSS!!!!!

Your drive now appears in MyComputer .
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:54 AM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

if that doesnt work let me know ive got a few more ideas
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:14 AM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

I ran the program and it sees my hard drive there, which is good, but then I do Analyze and it says Partition: Read Error. So I then press proceed and it goes to a screen something like this:

TestDisk 6.4, Data Recovery Utility, June 2006
Christophe GRENIER <grenier@cgsecurity.org>
http://www.cgsecurity.org

Disk /dev/sdb - 203 GB / 189 GiB - CHS 24792 255 63
Analyse cylinder 2/24791: 00%
Read error at 1/2/1 (lba=16191)

Is it going through 24791 things, because that will take forever. It is only on 3/24791 right now.
xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:40 PM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

I ran the same program except I chose Non Partition Media instead of Intel and it shows up with a partition. What should I do?

EDIT:

Also, what should I set the Disk Geometry as?
xtmpacygax is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:48 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

EDIT:

https://maxtor.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/...-OVN5Zh&p_lva=

cancel my last post found this on the actuall maxtor site hope it helps
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 03:53 PM   #40 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

I tried that, but my hard drive isn't listed in the Disk Management list.
__________________

xtmpacygax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.