Registry error in Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 11:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Registry error in Windows XP

"(The Registry Is Corrupt) The structure of one of the files that contains Registry data is corrupt, or the image of the file in memory is corrupt, or the file could not be recovered because the alternate copy or log was absent or corrupt."


I researched this error on the Microsoft webpage and found nothing of use. Any ideas on how to repair this? Reload or Repair is not an option.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

The few times I have seen this, I had to rebuild the machine.

Have you tried system restore, if your on XP.
There was an article around some where for restoring the registry, but it didn't work the way I was hoping. It pretty much rest the machine to the first boot. not what I was wanting...

can you get access to the registy files from the recovery console? Can you try using BartPE to get into them and look at them with a registry viewer?
What changed that might have caused this? Also, have you run checkdisk yet?
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
can you get access to the registy files from the recovery console? Can you try using BartPE to get into them and look at them with a registry viewer?
What changed that might have caused this? Also, have you run checkdisk yet?
To be honest because I never saw this, I did not try to do anything about it until I researched the problem. This is a customers PC so its not like I want to do a trial and error.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i assume you already have this program,

but install/run ccleaner, and check for registry errors, i couldnt believe how many i had :O
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well unfortunatley you need to contact the customer and find out exactly what happended to cause this error. From there you have to find out the limitations of what you can do.

Basically you need to use Knippox or BartPE and take as much info as you can off there and then reload Windows.

With a registry that is corrupt like such with no backup available the only option is to either try a repair install or to just flat out reinstall windows. A repair will most likely not work since it keeps most of the registry intact.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 02:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Much appreciated guys.


Thanks.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.