Registering windows everytime on starting my puter up - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2004, 05:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I can choose to register or not, as Oceanb0rn and wiseguyz408 described.

I never needed to activate using a licence key, and I don't have a trial period...anybody knows why??? (i didn't crack anything)

XP Pro
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

enterprise lisense? That is the only way that I know of not needing to activate windows.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

How can I check that?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
I can choose to register or not, as Oceanb0rn and wiseguyz408 described.

I never needed to activate using a licence key, and I don't have a trial period...anybody knows why??? (i didn't crack anything)

XP Pro
The reason is you live in Europe which is a good thing. Every summer I go to Ukraine, and buy software there. Now the software is extremely cheap averages from about $3 up to $10 max. When I bought an Xp pro disc, on the back of the disc there were codes to enter. My friend who bought the same copy of windows but a bit earlier had a crack already preinstalled on his cd. So I guess that's good right?

P.S. Hardware is extremely cheap too
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Since no one seems to want to go read the article, I'd copy it here:

Quote:
How to Reinstall Windows XP Without Having to Reactivate With Microsoft

To tell you the truth, I have never understood what the big deal is with product activation. The fact of the matter is that software piracy is fairly rampant and that Microsoft is the target for a large percentage of the piracy due to their dominance in the operating system and office productivity software markets. They have a right to try to stop or at least control that privacy and the product activation seems to be a fair way of ensuring that only legitimate software owners get to benefit from using it.

All that said, I know that there are many users who abhor the process. It may be because they have had problems activating and have had to call the toll-free number and wait to talk to a Microsoft support agent who then read them some 278-character long (okay- it's a slight exaggeration) activation code.

Or maybe they just feel that it is some sort of invasion of privacy or that Microsoft is acting as "Big Brother" and monitoring their actions.

No matter the reason, there are plenty of users who would rather never go through the product activation process again. Unfortunately for those users, they may very well run into a situation where they do. Product activation monitors the system configuration. If it detects a major hardware change or even too many minor hardware changes within a set number of days (I believe it's 180 days before it resets) then it crosses the threshold and requires reactivation.

Users who reformat their hard drive and perform a clean installation of the operating system will find that they need to reactivate the product. But, as long as the new installation is on the same system and there won't be any hardware changes it is possible to transfer the existing product activation and skip having to go through the product activation process again. Follow the steps below to save the activation status information and restore it once your system is rebuilt:

1. Double-click My Computer
2. Double-click on the "C" drive
3. Go to the C:\Windows\System32 folder (you may have to click on the link that says "Show The contents of this folder")
4. Find the files "wpa.dbl" and "wpa.bak" and copy them to a safe location. You can copy them on a floppy drive or burn it onto a CD or DVD.
5. After you have reinstalled Windows XP on your reformatted hard drive, click "No" when asked if you want to go ahead and go through the activation process
6. Reboot your computer into SafeMode (you can either press F8 as Windows is booting up to see the Windows Advanced Options menu and select SAFEBOOT_OPTION=Minimal or follow the instructions in Starting Windows XP in SafeMode
7. Double-click My Computer
8. Double-click on the "C" drive
9. Go to the C:\Windows\System32 folder (you may have to click on the link that says "Show The contents of this folder")
10. Find the file "wpa.dbl" and "wpa.bak" (if it exists) and rename them to "wpadbl.new" and "wpabak.new"
11. Copy your original "wpa.dbl" and "wpa.bak" files from your floppy disk, CD or DVD into the C:\Windows\System32 folder
12. Restart your system (if you followed the directions in Starting Windows XP in SafeMode you may need to go back into MSCONFIG to turn off booting into SafeMode)

Voila! Your Windows XP operating system is now reinstalled on your reformatted hard drive and you are all activated without having to actually go through the product activation process!

Remember though. This won't work for transferring activation information from one computer to another or if you alter the hardware because the information contained in your "wpa.dbl" file will not match the configuration of the computer. This trick is only for reinstalling Windows XP on the exact same computer after formatting the hard drive.
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Southernlady, that's a good find. Nice job.
Inaris is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Thank you. Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 06:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to wiseguyz408
Default

no no its not that i cant, i register online everytime when i start my puter now, i havent tried to call the person though..so the problem isnt that i cant do it, its just that i have to do it everytime and it wont go away..
wiseguyz408 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:16 AM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
I can choose to register or not, as Oceanb0rn and wiseguyz408 described.

I never needed to activate using a licence key, and I don't have a trial period...anybody knows why??? (i didn't crack anything)

XP Pro
you have a corperate edtion. it is made for business use
EricB is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wiseguyz408
no no its not that i cant, i register online everytime when i start my puter now, i havent tried to call the person though..so the problem isnt that i cant do it, its just that i have to do it everytime and it wont go away..
i have that problem once, when i copy my wpa.dbl file before i install my mobo drivers but i did both b4 i rebooted.

I think I went into safe mode as admin. copy my wpa.dbl file again and it took care of it
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.