is regestering windows necessary? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 08:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

activate yes, register no

waynejkruse10, you probably have a corperate version
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 05:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ok, how can i check?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

After windows installs, let it boot once. Dont' activate or register it. on the desktop right click and go to properties. the screen that comes up should give you all the information you need to know about your copy of windows.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

You have to activate 2003 and XP.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
You have to activate 2003 and XP.
not if you have a corperate edition
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:18 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I guess i have corporate.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Default

you must active
futballman is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 11:25 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49
Default

What happens after activation ? You can't change your videocard or something similar like that, or Windows will not work again?
What after you have to reformat the puter and do a new XP install ? Does it activation again?
coffee4me is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 11:35 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

that is true, no activation on corp
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 12:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

take my advice, don't do it, it's just waste of time, that's all.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.