Reformmating..haveing issues... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2005, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Reformating..haveing issues...

Ok

I got my new PC together, which is an amd 3700+ 939, DFI lanparty NF4 mobo, and a maxtor serial ata 133 hdd...

How do i reformat it...since just pressing f8 or whatever doesnt seem to get me to the reformat screen....i am confused!
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Set the BIOS to boot off CD, pop in the XP CD, follow the steps and it will ask you to format and partition the drive. Formatting the drive as NTFS is best.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default reformatting

if your NOT installing XP (but have access to an up grade or full install disk) pop the disk in and boot the PC, follow the instructions and after the HD is formatted press the F3 or "Quit" key and your set to go. Just don't format with NTFS unless the OS your going to use supports it.
Pelican is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 03:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

If you're not going to install XP, couldn't you just pop in a Win 95 or 98 boot disk and say "format c:" to format it as FAT32?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 03:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

format c: /s I think loads the system files that you will need to do the install
Pelican is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.