Reformatting win 98 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2006, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default Reformatting win 98

No the windows 98 does not have a floppy drive. Just a cdrom drive.

I do have the original install disk.

I thought I could reformat it easy but I did a bit of looking up and apparently when you reformat it erases the cd rom drivers so you can't reformat from there.

Do I HAVE to have a floppy drive?

I'm really not sure how this is done.

I can use a little dos.

Thanks for helping

Cheers.
__________________

gloomer is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yes, you need to go 'format C:\' from the A drive. Not too sure about a system disk from a cd drive but you might as well try.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default

I need to know for sure what to do.

The exact steps through dos etc..

I can't try and do it and the be left with a comp that won't boot...
gloomer is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

This is going back quite far...


A:/
Format C:\
yes
<it will format now>
D:\
Setup


It should now load Windows 98 and it is a case of going next and typing your COA code in.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default

So I go to the win 98, turn it on and go to dos and type these things in?

And what does COA mean?

sorry for my noob questions.

I wanna be 100% sure of what i'm doing before i screw around with things.
gloomer is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You can't format the partition that Windows is on in Windows. You need to do it in DOS or from a different operating system on a different hdd/partition - bootable Linux can be used as a last resort.

COA is that long code (20 digits of so long) that you type in when promted in the installation.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

If I'm not mistaken it WON'T erase your Cd-Rom drive, as the BIOS will still be able to read from it, and no matter what if you reformat from Windows, Floppy drive, it will erase everything, just format how you were going to, and use the Win98 CD and reinstall it, if that's what you are wanting to do.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default

so I guess I have to boot up in Dos is that correct?

How would I do this?

Some special key command when you start up?

And after I boot up in dos and dont reformat, how can i get back to normal view.

Thanks a ton man your the best.
gloomer is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

To get back to Windows you need to take out the system disk (floppy or CD if it works) and press Ctrl + Alt and delete and it will restart and continue to boot to windows.

Camouflage, it isn't drivers that may not be supported, but wether the BIOS allows booting from a CD drive. I know my old 98 machine doesn't allow it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 11:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Re: Reformatting win 98

Quote:
Originally posted by gloomer
No the windows 98 does not have a floppy drive. Just a cdrom drive.

I do have the original install disk.

I thought I could reformat it easy but I did a bit of looking up and apparently when you reformat it erases the cd rom drivers so you can't reformat from there.

Do I HAVE to have a floppy drive?

I'm really not sure how this is done.

I can use a little dos.

Thanks for helping

Cheers.
It's not possible to format your C drive in Win 98 without a Floopy disk, but you may try your CD drive.
There has been a website providing free software for formation of win 98, but I have forgotten the exact URL.
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.