Reformatting...some please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2004, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default Reformatting...someone please help

I wanna reformat cuz my computer being really slow and i cant fix it....i only have 5 DVD discs and about 50 gigs of stuff on my hard drive....I heard i can back up my stuff on my hard drive and then erase it later after i reformat, how would i do this??

also, is there a way to back up my hard drive so i dont have to reinstall everything again?? or do i have to reinstall every single program....thatll take a while

can someone please give me a guide to reformatting XP Home??

also do i need to do THIS?

thx alot
__________________

xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well there are a couple of options here.
First; A disc imaging program might suit your needs, but I doubt it as you say there is a problem. The way this works is by making an exact copy of everything on your machine into a compressed image that can be restored at any time to another disc of what ever size as long as it is larger then the data contained within it. This might be a good solution for the back up, but I'm not sure it will save you much space. Programs like Ghost work great cause the chomp the image every 2Gb, so that you can store it on media.
Second; If you don't make an image/copy, then you will have to start over. That is the problem with starting over. If you reformat and reinstall XP then you will have no choice but to reinstall all of your apps. Besides, this is what you want to do to get rid of any problems that were present anyway.
Third; That link describes in detail everything you need to do for the "Files and settings transfer wizard" so just follow it. It's pretty straight forward, but if you run into trouble, just ask. It would be a good idea to do it as it will capture all of your configurations to the environment, as well as files you have created in your profile.

To reformat, you should boot the system with the XP cdrom in the drive, and delete the partition that present, then create a new one and format it again. That will start the drive over. Then you need to just install XP and the rest is history...
If that doesn't work, there are several boot disks that can be downloaded to assist you.
http://www.nu2.nu/
This site has a ton of info on making boot CDs and disks.
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm
has all the boot disks you could ever want. Some work better then others, but they are all here.

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 07:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

are you talking about a program along the lines of Norton's ghost software?
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

yup, sure am...
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 01:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

ah thank you so much

but wouldnt that file transfer thing bring back the problems ?? since its like the same settigns and stuff....
xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 03:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

worked good for me! Thanks for the question and replys!
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

The File ans settings Transfer Wizard is a program that takes the configurations that you have specieified and moves the from Computer to Computer. It is possible that this will take the problems with it, but there is also the possibility that a meteor will strike you down wherer you stand... Oh, wait, still sleepy, sorry...

Most of the settings that TweakUI and simular program use are based on registry keys that change the way the system is setup. FSTW, is more for the basic stuff, ie, how your desktop looks, background, screen saver and files. It could carry over the problem, but I doubt it. and if it does, just undo the settings.
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

ok thx
__________________

xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.