Reformatting/Restoring a CD-Rom-less Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2004, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Angry Reformatting/Restoring a CD-Rom-less Laptop

Can it be done?
I'm currently trying to reload a friend's Dell laptop.
Kazaa, among other things have completely trashed this under-one-year-old laptop, which is running Windows XP. Also, his CD Rom drive even goes in and out of service. As it stands, I am unable to reformat using the restore CDs he supplied me.
Needless to say, he is concerned about his music, but I told him if he wanted a working laptop, he'd probably have to lose the music.

I started out by trying MsConfig and uninstalling a lot of unnecessary software, but there's still too much slowing down the system.
I've attempted the System Restore, but it does not acheive desireable results. Plus, I'm not too familiar with reformatting laptops (using fdisk, etc.) because I am unfamiliar with opening them up and tinkering with the connections.
So is there anything else to try except give it back to him and tell him to call Dell? Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

opening and tinkering on a format?? I guess you could do a PXE type install by going over a network (peer 2 peer) that or use an external cdrom.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Default

Thanks for the idea of an external cd-rom. I had forgotten that I had an external cd-rom that I could use in this situation. I was able to reformat the laptop, but upon re-installing the drivers from the Dell Driver CD, there is an SM Bus Controller remaining in the Device Manager. Rather than installing everything off the CD, can anyone direct me to what I should be looking for?
__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

need MBD chipset drivers.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.