reformatting and reinstalling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2004, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Default reformatting and reinstalling

is reinstalling the OS the same as reformatting the hard drive? Probably not.

I would like to reformat my HD and start over fresh. I've got a lot of crap and mp3 files on my HD and a lot of the files are fragmented and my sys performance is just going down hill.

Sorry for the noob questions.
__________________

gwak is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 09:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

You can reformat using a bootdisk using the "fdisk" command.
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/install/fdisk.htm

or you can connect your HDD as slave to someother computer and use a partition manager software [Partition Magic or some other software ]

**If the connected system has windows XP, then the 'disk managent' option can be used to partition your hard drive.

Sign
Intercodes
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If you're using WinXP you can boot off of the WinXP CD. You can choose to Reinstall Windows. When you go to reinstall windows, you can partition and format your drive and then reinstall. This can all be done from the CD.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You cannot format an NTFS partition with FDISK. You can delete them though.

The easiest way is to use the XP install disc and format with that. (it will give u an option before install begins)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.