Reformatting Harddrive (stuck) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2004, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 63
Default Reformatting Harddrive (stuck)

Im stuck reformatting my harddrive help apprecitated

ive tried these ways

1) Making a MS-DOS startup disk, rebooting and then starting with MSDOS then it comes up with A:\> and i cant change the drive to C: so i was stuck there

2) I tried starting up with the windows xp cd and going into the recovery console. I then typed


then i hit enter

then i typed "format c: /fs:ntfs"

then i hit enter

Then i typed Y

i then hit enter

it said that it would clean the harddrive but it didnt do anything

3) lastly i tried deleting a partition from starting up with the windows xp cd. I couldnt delete any partitons or make any new ones so i was stuck there.....

Help appreciated

enzio is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024

Change ur file system from NTFS to FAT32.
NTFS does not support DOS.
U can use XP bootable CD or some third party utilities r available which I am not aware of.


P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 120

boot with winxp cd.
dont use the recovery console.
i cant tell you by memory,but after it loads the drivers at some point it will show your hard will have the option to partition the drive then it will give you options of format fat32,format ntfs,ect..
btv is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 07:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 57

cant you run fdisk from A:\ - I think that is how i did it last via a win98 boot floppy
AMD 2500+, 512mb Mem, 160GB (2xSATA 80GB in RAID0 array), K7N2G-ILSR (using on-board graphics and sound (for the moment ;-) ))

How many windows \"errors\" can there be??!!!
CacheUK is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 16

Maybe the problem is that your hard drive is overheated or does not defragmented always--eh that's my opinion, cuz I have experience in that area. My computer cannot access the drive c:
so I go to the bios section then I force my drive c: to came back to its roots, I try and try--voila! it came back. so remember to defragmented your pc always.
megaman2000ph is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469

but in your bootdisc
go to @ the A: type fdisk
Delete any partitions
Reboot then your should be able to format
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
microsoftne is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 10:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

Just use a bootable win Xp Cd n follow the instructions.

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 03:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: Reformatting Harddrive (stuck)

Originally posted by enzio
Im stuck reformatting my harddrive help apprecitated
1) Making a MS-DOS startup disk, rebooting and then starting with MSDOS then it comes up with A:\> and i cant change the drive to C: so i was stuck there
Enzio, if DOS cannot see the hard drive (C:\), then it could be that the HDD itself is incorrectly installed. Open up your case and make sure all the IDE cables are securely fastened and that the jumper settings are correct (master/slave).

When you have double checked this, I would boot up with a Win98 startup diskette. Use the FDISK utility to see what partitions (if any) there are on this hard drive. As long as your personal data is backed up somewhere safe, I would delete all partitions and just make it one large single partition.

You do NOT need to PRE-format your HDD when installing W2K or XP. Both oper. systems will format the HDD as part of the isntallation process.

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.