Reformatting Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Reformatting Computer

Okay I reinstalled Windows XP on my computer and I have two Partition drives, C and D. I installed windows on D. My old installation of Windows XP was on C.

Now that installation is completed. I have two copies of windows installed. On top of that, my C drive wasn't formatted, my old files still remains.

My goal right now is to delete all the files on C faster than deleting them folder by folder. I do not need ANY Files on C. I tried deleted Documents and Settings and Widnows wont allow me to (on C drive, my main drive is D drive remember). I need something that would make me wipe it out. I tried to rightclick the drive and format it from there, but after its formatted it says "Cannot be formatted" or something like that.

Thanks for any help.

P.S. What are some good start-up softwares to fill/spice up my Windows XP experience installation? Like best firewalls/antiviruses and some utilities besides google pack.
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Are you ok with your drive letter being D:? Have you tried diskmgmt.msc via run?

Go thru my guide for all the programs you will need
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default

Yes I think I'm okay with D. IS there any disadvantage to this? I did this because I am too lazy to open up a bootable floppy disc partition manager. My D has ~20 gigs, and my C has 90 gbs. So I install Windows on D and all my files/downloads will be on C.

O/T question: is it better to install softwares like Adobe Photoshop on D (windows) and save the files on C or install it on C and save the files on C?

What is diskmgmt.msc? What will that do? HOw do I use it?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Start, run, type diskmgmt.msc

It's much easier if its C:

Some programs will have issues with it but you can work around them

All you had to do was delete both partitions and the drive could have been C:
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default

So just to clarify, its better if I install my softwares on C and all my downloads on C and the only thing thats on D is my windows installation?

THanks for that disk diskmgmt.msc, I'll try it out right now.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Just install everything on the main drive and use the spare drive as a backup
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default

Update:

I booted in my D drive Windows XP and ran the diskmgmt.msc and right clicked on the C drive and the format was grayed out. I right clicked on the D drive and the format button is grayed out.

Both installation of Windows XP have different login names. So I went Logoff > Switch Usernames and checked to see if I booted on the right Installation and I did.

What can I do now?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to msconfig, boot.ini tab and click on check all boot paths and clic ok to remove the invalid entry
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default

It says everything is okay. Seems like this is turning into a bigger problem than I thought.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

take the jumper off the c drive so that it is a slave drive and then try to format it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.