reformatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2004, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to crspii
Question reformatting

dont know how to reformat winXP. big newb. help.
__________________

__________________
signature
crspii is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to frapped
Default

You realize this means deleting all of your files, right?

Make a boot disk that has fdisk on it. You can use a windows 98 disk from www.bootdisk.com

The file you download will probably be an exe file, so put a blank floppy into the drive and double click the exe. It will automatically put the files on the floppy disk. Make sure that fdisk is on there. Now restart the computer with the floppy disk in. At the A:\ prompt, type fdisk. Format the hard drive and create a primary partition. When you're finished with fdisk, take out the floppy, put in your Windows XP CD, and restart the computer.
__________________

frapped is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Or a quick easy way to do it is set your BIOS to BOOT from the windows XP CD and then bamm just follow the on screen intructions.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 03:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to crspii
Default

say i was putting an OS onto a blank HDD, wat then?
__________________
signature
crspii is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 06:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
Or a quick easy way to do it is set your BIOS to BOOT from the windows XP CD and then bamm just follow the on screen intructions.
Basically thats what you do..same concept applies to a blank HDD
bones is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 09:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

u gotta go to bios and set ur priority boot device to cd and from there restart ur com..

when it restarts... they will ask u whether u want to boot from ur cd (make sure ur window xp cd is inside).

follow the instruction after it loads, u will want to install a windows xp and when they ask u should delete the partition and from there create a new one.

when it is finished, well, u have formatted ur C:\!
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to crspii
Default

awesome thx
__________________

__________________
signature
crspii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.