reformatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2006, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Question reformatting

I have a Dell 8300 and have reformatted it several times and after each reformatt the hard drive still shows the same ammount of disk space used. So i think to myself "oh that space is overwritable now so it should be ok" but now it is like completely full and it is not over writing any of the space from previous reformats. What the **** am i doing wrong? in case you are wondering this is what i did http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx.../emulation.htm
__________________

sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Default

try formatting using the long method (not the quick format)
__________________

__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

As long as you are using a hard drive set to the main Master setting, and reformatted to NTFS, it should wipe out the hard drive, and install Windows XP with about 3GB used on the hard drive.

If you want to be more thorough, you can do a slower format, to ensure that everything is erased on the hard drive.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 03:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

I have only ever done the quick method. How would i do the long one?
sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 03:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Get MaxBlast (Maxtor) or DataLifeGuard Tools (WesternDigital) and write your entire drive with 0's for the MOST thorough formatting.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 04:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

can you be a little more detailed with the process? im a noobie. so after i set it all to 0... i restart? or do i just put in the OS cd and install like usual?
sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 06:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Reboot, put the OS Cd in and run the installation process, that should rid you of your writing problems.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 11:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

ok i have a question... if im using a program to do this....how does a program erase itself?
sum1nowhere is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

What program?

When you're reformatting, you're using the OS CD and the BIOS.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 11:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

data life guard tools..
__________________

sum1nowhere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.