reformat xp and now cant connect to the net - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2007, 07:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default reformat xp and now cant connect to the net

I reformatted my computer for my mother...she bought my computer
i brought it over to her place and hooked it all up for her and connected the ethernet cable(shes got cable) and tried to open internet explorer and says your not conected? Now i wondering by reformatting the hard drive did i screw
something up....everything was fine through the format setup???

I was thinking my ethernet card wasnt working..but when i plug it in the little
lite comes on beside the cable....do i need special drivers? for the ethernet card...or when you format the drive it wipes out all the drivers??

everything was working good before(i was with bell sympatico)
i even called there internet provider(persona) and he walked me through
to connect and it shows at the bottom right corner that i am connected
(those 2 little computersl inked up that shows your connected) but whe you double click on internet explorer it doesnt work

I have windows xp
__________________

stacked2008 is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: reformat xp and now cant connect to the net

Quote:
Originally Posted by stacked2008 View Post

I was thinking my ethernet card wasnt working..but when i plug it in the little
lite comes on beside the cable....do i need special drivers? for the ethernet card...or when you format the drive it wipes out all the drivers??
There's your answer.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: reformat xp and now cant connect to the net

so i have to re install the drivers? ok so if i cant connect to the net how do i
update the drivers? or are they allready on the computer?


where can i get those drivers?
stacked2008 is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default Re: reformat xp and now cant connect to the net

From the computer manufacturer's website if its a premade pc, or the manufacturer of the network adapter (if you are using one) or motherboard manufacturer if it's onboard, or the manufacturer of the chipset of your network card. (intel, realtek, via, broadcom, etc...)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: reformat xp and now cant connect to the net

Quote:
Originally Posted by stacked2008 View Post
so i have to re install the drivers? ok so if i cant connect to the net how do i
update the drivers? or are they allready on the computer?


where can i get those drivers?
Sorry to sound brutally honest here. But this is stuff you should have thought of before you formatted. If you do a format EVERYTHING, yes everything, is gone. Drivers applicaitons all personal data. All gone.

So now you have to go online, maybe using the PC you are using to ask these questions??? Then get all the drivers you need.

So make a list in your device manager. Right click on my computer>properties>Hardware>device manager before you even ask.

Then go online and find those devices. If they come up with Generic PCI device then you have to figuer out what it is. If you have a mother board CD then i would suggest try that first. If not the go to the site of your PC maker (Like Dell or HP) and see if they have your drivers there.

AFter you get all these drivers a bit of advice. Burn them to a CD for reference later if you have to do this again.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.