reformat... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2004, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default reformat...

Well I have a seanix and well it comes wit a recovery disc and well I do all the process and it seems not to allow me reformate??? Any help?


thank you
__________________

Tipsi is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

when you boot off the recovery disc it should partition your hd and copy over the os as it appeared when you first purchased the pc.

if you want to format the drive first, copy format.com to a startup disk.
__________________

__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you have a plain OS CD and is bootable then you should just pop that in and format it from there, it gives you the format option just before install
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

If you dont have an OS CD see if you can borrow one off a friend and use that to format.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 03:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you do not need to format. the recovery cd holds an image of a partition. when you restore the image the partition table and FAT tables are overwritten (also whatever NTFS uses, obviously not FAT). this is essentailly the same as formatting. it works in the same manner as symantec norton ghost or powerquest drive image. in fact many restore CD use ghost.

taken from symantec.com:

the cloning process overwrote the partition table and file allocation tables (FATs) on the source drive, but did not overwrite the data.

The partition table and FAT tables are like a map that tells the computer where to find the pieces of a file. Without the map, DOS and Windows cannot locate the file and the data is unrecoverable. If you can recover the partition table and part or all of the FAT, you might be able to recover part or all of the data.

Data recovery services specialize in recovering data from overwritten and damaged drives. If the destination drive was empty, a data recovery service might be able to recover part or all of your data. If you decide to use a data recovery service, do not use other recovery methods before sending the drive to a data recovery service.
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.